للتفاعل على وسائل التواصل الإجتماعي

شاهد عيان

'يوم حريتنا الأخير.' شاب مثلي أفغاني يستذكر الحب والخسارة ، بعد عام من الانسحاب الاميركي

لقد مات جيلي ، جو بايدن قتلنا.

Anonymous

نُشر المقال

في

رسمة للفنّان لي براون لآوتسبوكن ميدل إيست Outspoken Middle East

صباح الـ 15 من آب/ أغسطس 2021 كان يوما دافئاً ومشمساً ,التقطت صورة لكابول على هاتفي المحمول دون أن أعرف أنَّه سيكون آخر يوم في حريتنا.

اسمي نذير أحمد. عمري 24 عاما من كابول. كنت في الثالثة من عمري عندما سقطت طالبان، ودخلت أفغانستان عصرا جديدا. الصورة الأولى لي في طفولتي هي من ليلة لم يكن فيها كهرباء في المنزل، لكنني كنت أسمع الموسيقى من راديو والدي. مع سقوط طالبان وتأسيس حكومة جديدة مدعومة من الغرب، تغيرت حياة الأفغان تماما. والموسيقى، التي كانت محظورة من حياة الأفغان لسنوات عديدة، عادت مرة أخرى إلى الإذاعة. لم يكن لدينا كهرباء، ولكن في ظلام الليل الحالك و تحت ضوء الشموع، كنا نستمع إلى الأغاني السعيدة التي تبث من محطة الإذاعة المنشأة حديثا في كابول. أصرت أمي على الإمساك بيدي وجعلي أرقص. لم يعجب والدي ذلك ، لكن العائلة كانت في حالة معنوية جيدة ومليئة بالأمل.

كانت شوارع كابول لا تزال مغبرة، لكن المدينة تفوح منها رائحة الأمل. إن وجود قوات دولية، وخاصة أمريكية، في تلك السنوات الأولى أعاد السلام إلى البلاد. واستعاد البلد تدريجيا النظام الذي فقده منذ أكثر من ثلاثين عاما، الحريات النسبية كانت واضحة في حياة الأفغان ، كما أنَّ الثقافة والمجتمع المدني كانا يمضيان قدما. كان آباؤنا مفعمين بالأمل لمستقبل اطفالهم ، وكنا لا نزال صغارا وغير مدركين للمستقبل الذي ينتظرنا.

صورة لكابل التقطت من قبل المؤلف صباح 15/أغسطس ، 2021 //OSME

كانت المرة الأولى التي سمعنا عن الشائعات التي تتحدث عن انسحاب القوات الأمريكية من أفغانستان خلال فترة الرئيس أوباما. اعتاد والدي أن يقول إنه إذا غادر الأمريكيون، فسوف تنهار البلاد، وهو ما أراده الديمقراطيون الأمريكيون دائما لأفغانستان. لقد حطموا البلاد خلال جيمي كارتر وبيل كلينتون. في رأي والدي، لم يكن لدى الديمقراطيين ما يفعلونه سوى تدمير العالم وأفغانستان. لم أفهم هذه الكلمات. خلال سنوات رئاسة أوباما، أصبحت مراهقاً وأدركت ببطء هويتي الجنسية كرجل مثلي الجنس. وبفضل شبكة الإنترنت، التي كانت تذكارا ناتجاً عن وجود الأمريكيين في البلد، أصبحت العشرات من شبكات الإذاعة والتلفزيون التي كانت تبث من داخل البلد وخارجه متاحة لنا مجانا، وبفضل حرية التعبير النسبية، تعرفت ببطء على نفسي .

كنت أعرف أنني مهتماً بالرجال. في المجتمع المحافظ في أفغانستان، كانت هذه خطيئة عظيمة، ولكن كان هناك أيضا خيطاً من الأمل، لوجود بلدان مختلفة، والعديد من المنظمات الدولية والمؤسسات التعليمية والمؤسسات العاملة في أفغانستان، كان لدي أمل في أن أتمكن من الخروج من أفغانستان عن طريق الدراسة. أو على الأقل في أفغانستان، يمكنني الدخول في السياسة أو دائرة السلطة ومحاولة تغيير القانون، وما كان يتصاعد في أفغانستان هو الأمل. كان يمكننا أن نحلم ونتمنى.

المرة الأولى التي وقعت فيها في الحب كانت عندما تعرضت للخطر جراء انفجار رهيب حصل في كابول. كان عمري 19 عاما. كنت قد تمكنت من الالتحاق بإحدى الجامعات الأمريكية في المدينة من خلال الاجتهاد بالدراسة. كانت أفغانستان تصبح غير آمنة بشكل متزايد يوميا، خاصة بعد تولي حكومة أشرف غني الحكم، وعدم كفاءته في الحفاظ على وحدة البلاد جعل أفغانستان غير مستقرة. كان العالم لا يزال في حالة حرب مع داعش. بعد أشهر من تصفح الإنترنت واستخدام تطبيقات مثل Grindr (التي قد تكون خطرة للاستخدام في أفغانستان) ، كنت مهتما بأحد زملائي في كليتنا وعرفت أنه كان أيضا رجلا مثلياً. لقد مرت بضعة أيام منذ أن حصلنا على أرقام هواتف بعضنا البعض وتحدثنا ، وفي ذلك اليوم كان من المفترض أن نذهب إلى أحد المطاعم في تاريخ مناسب لنا بعد الجامعة.

ذلك اليوم الصيفي الحار، عندما غادرت المنزل ذاهباً إلى الجامعة، هزَّ انفجار عنيف المنطقة الخضراء في المدينة حوالي الساعة 8:30 صباحا. لقد شاهدت عن قرب مقتل وجرح مئات الأشخاص، وبسبب قوة الانفجار ، طارت إحدى عدسات نظارتي الى الزاوية ، ولم تستطع أذناي سماع أي صوت لساعات.

لم أذهب إلى الجامعة في ذلك الصباح. أردت الذهاب، لكنني لم أستطع بسبب الانفجار الذي حدث. كنت أفكر بكل قلبي في حبي الجديد محمد. كانت شبكة الهاتف المحمول معطلة، ولم أتمكن من الاتصال به. ظللت أصلي من أجل أن يكون آمنا. أنا ، الذي كنت أحلم بتقبيل شفتيه ، كنت أحترق بشوق لرؤيته مرة أخرى. مرت ساعة مع هذه الأفكار حتى قررت الذهاب إلى الجامعة ، ربما أجد محمد هناك.

مررت بحركة المرور المزدحمة في كابول ووصلت إلى الجزء الخلفي من مبنى الكلية حوالي الظهر. كانت الجامعة أكثر هدوءا من المعتاد، ولم يحضر الطلاب بسبب الانفجار. مكثت في الحرم الجامعي. كانت بضع دقائق بعد الظهر عندما وصل محمد. رأيت عينيه أولا.عيناه سوداء ما أثار أثار انتباهي إليه. قفزت وعانقته. كان الأمر محرجا ، ولكن إن سألني احداً وقتها عن إظهار هذه المودة له ، فسأقول إنني سعيد لأنه لم يمت في الانفجار. منذ ذلك اليوم فصاعدا ، لم نكن منفصلين لثانية واحدة. صباحا ومساء، ليلا ونهارا. أخذته إلى المنزل وعرفته على العائلة كصديق مقرب. أخذني أيضا إلى منزله. درسنا معا وخططنا لمستقبلنا. كنا دائما نمزح بأن علاقتنا بدايتها كان انفجارا هائلاً.

كانت الحياة السرية لمجتمع الميم في أفغانستان تتحسن تدريجيا. اعتدنا أنا ومحمد على المشاركة في تجمعات المثليين معا. وفي أيام الثلاثاء، كنّا نلتقي في أحد المطاعم، وأيام الجمعة كنّا نلتقي في حمام سباحة وسط كابول، وأيام الأربعاء في إحدى السفارات الأجنبية التي كان بها مقهى. شيئا فشيئا، كانت بعض الناشطات في مجال حقوق المرأة يتحدثن أيضا عن حقوق المثليين. تناولت وسائل الإعلام قضية المثليين والمثليات ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية وحاملي صفات الجنسين، وحتى عدد قليل من أعضاء البرلمان الأفغاني أشاروا الى دعمهم لإضفاء الشرعية على المثلية الجنسية في أفغانستان.

وبصرف النظر عن الانفجارات اليومية والهجمات الانتحارية، لا تزال الحياة تفوح منها رائحة الأمل.

 خططنا أنا ومحمد لإنهاء دراستنا والسفر إلى الخارج بمنحة دراسية. عندما وصل جو بايدن إلى السلطة مع وعد بانسحاب أمريكي كامل من أفغانستان، أخبرت محمد أنني أشعر بالخوف. كنا نحدق الى التلفاز ونستمع إلى تصريحاته، ونصلي إلى الله أن هذه الكلمات ليست سوى وعد انتخابي. لقد سمعنا أنا ومحمد، اللذان لم نشهد المرحلة الأولى السابقة من حكومة طالبان، قصصا مؤلمة من آبائنا. حقيقة أنهم وضعوا المثليين جنسيا على حافة الجدار و اعدموهم كانت قصة سمعناها مرارا وتكرارا من أصدقائنا. تلاشت المواعيد الأسبوعية مع أصدقائنا المثليين.كان الكثيرون يخشون الخروج من المنزل والتجمع في الأماكن العامة. كنا جميعا قلقون. المرة الأخيرة وقبل حوالي شهر من سقوط كابول، اجتمعنا في المطعم المعتاد في وسط كابول. كان يوم الثلاثاء. عزف أحد الأصدقاء على الجيتار ، وغنى الآخر أغنية معه. على الرغم من أننا لم نكن نعرف عن المستقبل شيئاً أو حتى نعرف أن هذا كان اجتماعنا الأخير ، إلا أننا كنا حزينين و تغمرنا الدموع.

كان الوضع يزداد سوءا. في عام 2021 ، السيطرة على البلاد بدأت تنسحب تدريجيا من أيدي الجيش الأفغاني. لقد تحطم الأمل بداخلنا. لكننا لم نكن نعتقد أن الجيش الأمريكي سيترك بالطريقة التي فعلوها. ولم نكن نعتقد أن كل تلك المؤسسات الدولية المختلفة ستغادر البلد دفعة واحدة. وأخيرا، لم نكن نعتقد أنه في أقل من بضع دقائق، ستنهار الحكومة والبرلمان والجيش وجميع الآليات التي تم بناؤها في السنوات العشرين الماضية.

لنعود إلى صباح يوم 15 أغسطس 2021. كان ذلك يوماً حاراً ومشمساً. قال أشرف غني في خطاب لهُ إنه سيبقى في السلطة حتى وفاته وسيدافع عن البلاد. أنا ومحمد، اللذان نجونا من الضغوط من عائلاتنا للزواج من فتيات ، أردنا مغادرة البلاد. بدأ كلانا العمل في منظمة غير حكومية أجنبية. كنا قد اتفقنا على خلق حجج وشراء منزل معا. خلال الأسبوعين الماضيين ، تلقينا تحذيرات أمنية ، لكننا واصلنا العمل. كنا نحب أن نحافظ على أملنا واعتقدنا أن الحياة تستمر. أردنا أن نصدق أن العالم لن يتركنا وحدنا ضد طالبان. كنا نعتقد أن أمريكا لن تفتح الباب أمام الجماعات الإرهابية مرة أخرى بعد عشرين عاما. بعد كل تلك الوعود بحقوق الإنسان، لن يتركنا بايدن وحدنا مع جماعة إرهابية. أردنا أن نصدق أن بايدن لن يبيعنا لطالبان.

 مع ظهيرة يوم 15 أغسطس 2021 ، حدث شيء غريب. كانت المدينة بأكملها تركض. كان الجميع يقولون لي إن طالبان دخلت كابول. كنت أنظر إلى الأسفل من الطابق العلوي من المبنى وأسأل ، أين يركض هؤلاء الأشخاص بالضبط؟ إذا كانت طالبان قد استولت على البلاد، فقد انتهى الأمر. شجعت محمد، الذي كان يجلس أمامي، على العودة إلى المنزل. كنا آخر الأشخاص الذين غادروا مبنى مكاتبنا ، وكالعادة ، قبلنا بعضنا البعض في زاوية منعزلة. عاش محمد وعائلته غرب كابول، وعشت أنا وعائلتي في الشمال الشرقي.

تبادلنا الوداع وكنت متوترا جدا. حدقت بمحمد في الشارع عندما كان يسير بعيدا. غادر وضاع في الحشد. كان ذلك حوالي المساء عندما سقطت الحكومة واستولت طالبان رسميا على البلاد. لم تكن الهواتف تعمل بشكل جيد، لكنني كنت لا أزال على اتصال بمحمد. كانت أمي وإحدى أخواتي، وهي طالبة في المدرسة الثانوية، تبكيان. قالت أنَّ طالبان لن تسمح لها بالعودة إلى المدرسة. خمنت بشكل صحيح. شيئا فشيئا ، اتخذت البرامج الإذاعية والتلفزيونية شكلا مختلفا. توقفت الموسيقى، وظهر قادة طالبان على المسرح. هل كانت هذه النهاية؟ كانت هناك العديد من التقارير الإخبارية حول انسحاب القوات الأمريكية. ومع ذلك، ما زلنا نأمل أن يأمر جو بايدن باستمرار وجود هذه القوات الآن بعد أن احتلت طالبان البلاد. هل هذا ممكن؟ عشرون عاما من العمل دمرت بين عشية وضحاها؟

فكرت في كل الأيام السعيدة. لم يكن لدينا شيء في أفغانستان. كنا فقراء، كانت هناك انفجارات هنا وهناك، لكن الأمل كان في قلوبنا. كنا نعلم أن مجتمعنا لا يريد مجتمع الميم، لكننا كنا نأمل أن يتحسن الوضع في نهاية المطاف. كنَّا نملك الحياة.

في كل ثانية من تلك الليلة الأولى، كنت أرتعد من الخوف. شعر محمد بنفس الطريقة. لم نكن نعرف ما إذا كانت طالبان ستأتي إلينا بسبب عملنا مع إحدى المنظمات الأجنبية. هل هم على دراية بتوجهنا الجنسي عن طريق علاقاتنا مع أشخاص آخرين من مجتمع الميم ؟ المثليون كانو يتواصلون مع بعضهم عن طريق ال Grindr ويتساءلون عما إذا كانت هناك طريقة للهروب من البلاد أم لا.

بعد يومين من احتلال طالبان لكابول وتسريع انسحاب القوات العسكرية الأمريكية من أفغانستان، تلقينا رسالة من المنظمة التي كنا نعمل معها مفادها أنه يمكنني أنا ومحمد الذهاب إلى مطار كابول ومغادرة البلاد. لقد كان الانفصال عن العائلة والسفر إلى مستقبل مجهول قراراً صعباً.

بصرف النظر عن كل هذا، كانت التقارير عن الازدحام الهائل حول مطار كابول مثيرة للقلق. احتلت قوات طالبان الشوارع المحيطة بالمطار، و اضطررنا إلى المرور عبر نقاط التفتيش التابعة لها للوصول إلى مطار كابول. قررنا المغادرة في الصباح الباكر إلى المطار. وزاد قلقنا الوجوه المخيفة لطالبان، بشعرهم الطويل ولحاهم الطويلة وأقدامها العارية وعيونهم المليئة بالكراهية، والتي كانت مشغولة بمطاردة ضحاياها. بعض هذه القوات كانت تحمل العصي أو السياط في أيديهم وتضرب الناس.قيل لنا أن نذهب إلى أحد المداخل في الجزء الخلفي من مطار كابول، حيث تتمركز القوات البريطانية. ولكن على بعد كيلومتر واحد حول هذه المنطقة ، كان الحشد يتدفق. صراخ الرجال والنساء، وصرخات الأطفال، والنيران الجوية لطالبان والقوات البريطانية يمكن سماعها في كل مكان. انتظر آلاف الأشخاص لساعات في الحر الشديد لدخول المطار. وجاء معظمهم إلى هناك دون أي دعوة للهروب من أفغانستان التي تسيطر عليها طالبان. وفي بعض الأحيان، كانت قوات طالبان تضرب الحاضرين لتفريقهم.

رأيت العديد من الأطفال يتم سحقهم بالاقدام وينفصلون عن عائلاتهم.

بعد ساعات ، وصلنا إلى المدخل. أمسكت أنا ومحمد بأيدي بعضنا البعض بإحكام حتى لا نفقد بعضنا. لم يكن لدينا أي أمتعة معنا. كنا قد ذهبنا إلى المطار مع حفنة من الملابس والهواتف المحمولة وزجاجة مياه. عندما دفعنا الحشد بعيدا عن المدخل، أمسكنا بيد بعضنا البعض بإحكام لدرجة أننا لن ننفصل للحظة. غافلين عما كان أمامنا ، حاولنا المضي قدما قدر الإمكان. في أحد الحانات، عندما فتح جنود الجيش البريطاني الباب، سحبت نفسي إلى الباب الأمامي. كانت يد محمد لا تزال في يدي. أعطيت الاسم والرقم اللذين كان لدينا للجندي.اهتز الحشد بعنف ودفعني أنا ومحمد بعيدا عن الباب مرة أخرى. عدت إلى ذلك الجندي مرة أخرى. كان قد وجد اسمي وكان يسألني عن الشخص الثاني. حاولت أن أحضر محمد أمام عيني الجندي البريطاني الذي كان يصرخ منذ الصباح لدرجة أنه لم يستطع السماع. دفعني الجندي إلى داخل المجمع وبدأ يتحدث وينظر إلى وثائق محمد. وبقلق وإصرار من جنود آخرين، تم دفعي بعيدا عن مدخل أحد مباني المطار. كنت أنظر من النافذة. لا زلت أرى وجه محمد المتعب والقلق.

فجأة، سمعت عدة طلقات جوية. كان بعض الناس يحاولون الدخول عن طريق تحطيم مدخل المطار. فجأة ، حدث ما هو غير متوقع. وقرر الجيش البريطاني إغلاق المطار لحماية قواته والركاب الفارين. كنت آمل أن يكون محمد قد دخل منطقة المطار. بغض النظر عن عدد المرات التي بحثت فيها عنه ، لم يتمكنوا من العثور عليه. كانت الهواتف لا تعمل. بدأت بالبكاء، ولم أستطع أن أقول إن الشخص الذي ترك في الخارج هو حبي و حياتي ووجودي. لم أستطع الصراخ كيف سمحتم للأزواج المغايرين بالدخول، وأبقيتم زوجي خارجا. كنت أسأل نفسي عما إذا كان محمد على قيد الحياة. لم ترد أي أنباء عنه، وكانت الطائرة العسكرية البريطانية المتجهة إلى الدوحة، مستعدة لمغادرة مطار كابول. توسلت إليهم أن يسمحوا لي بالبقاء بانتظار بالرحلة التالية. قالوا إنه قد لا تكون هناك رحلة أخرى. لا أتذكر الدقائق القليلة التالية، ولم أدرك على الإطلاق كيف أقلعت الطائرة من كابول. كنت أبكي. كان الجميع تقريبا يبكون. كنا جيل الأمل، ولم أكن أريد أن أفقد أملي.

كنت آمل أن يخرج محمد من أفغانستان على متن الطائرة التالية. عندما وصلنا إلى الدوحة، اتصلت بالإنترنت، على أمل أن أسمع منه. لم تكن هناك أخبار. اتصلت بمنزلهم في كابول. اعتقدت عائلته أنه كان معي وشعروا بالقلق من أنه لم يطير معي. كانت الساعات التالية مرعبة. علاقتنا، التي بدأت بانفجار في كابول، انتهت بانفجار آخر في كابول. ومحمد قُتِل َ في انفجار وقع بالقرب من مطار كابول في اليوم نفسه.

ما زلت أتنفس. جسدي على قيد الحياة. ولكن في نفس اليوم ، 17 أغسطس 2021 ، تركت روحي في مطار كابول. ما زلت أرى عيون محمد السوداء الكبيرة من خلف نافذة مطار كابول، وأقول لنفسي ألف مرة في اليوم: لعنة جو بايدن. لقد أخذ الحياة والحب من ملايين الأفغان. الرئيس ، الذي يصافح مخلوقات وهمية ولا يستطيع حتى تركيب جملة صحيحة ، قرر بلدنا ومصيرنا ودمرنا. أسأل ألف مرة في اليوم، هل يعرف زملائي المثليون الأمريكيون أن رئيس الولايات المتحدة المؤيد لحقوق الإنسان حرم الأفغان من حقوقهم الأساسية؟ لم يعد الأمر مهما. أنا ميت. لقد مات جيلي. جو بايدن قتلنا.

في التداول

العربية

با ما در تماس باشید

Eyewitness

‘The last day of our freedom.’ An Afghan gay man reflects on love, and loss, one year after the American withdraw

My generation is dead. Joe Biden killed us.

Anonymous

منتشر شده

بر

Artwork by Leigh Brown for Outspoken Middle East

August 15, 2021 was a warm, sunny day. That morning, I took a photo of Kabul on my mobile phone without knowing that day was the last day of our freedom.

My name is Nazir Ahmed. I am 24 and I am from Kabul. I was three years old when the Taliban fell, and Afghanistan entered a new era. The first image of my childhood is from a night when we didn’t have electricity at home, but I could hear music from my father’s radio. With the fall of the Taliban and the establishment of a new government supported by the West, the life of Afghans changed utterly. Music, which had been banned from the lives of Afghans for many years, had once again returned to the radio. We didn’t have electricity, but in the absolute darkness of the night, under the candlelight, we were listening to happy songs broadcast from the newly established radio station in Kabul. My mother insisted on holding my hand and making me dance; my father did not like that, but the family was in good spirits and full of hope.

The streets of Kabul were still dusty, but the city smelled of hope. The presence of international, mainly American, forces in those first years brought back peace in the country. The country gradually regained the order it had lost more than thirty years ago, and relative freedoms were evident in the lives of Afghans. Culture and civil society were moving forward. Our parents were full of hope for their children, and we were still little and unaware of the future ahead of us.

A photo of Kabul taken by the author the morning of Aug. 15, 2021 // OSME

The first time there were rumours of the withdrawal of American troops from Afghanistan was during President Obama’s time. My father used to say that if the Americans leave, the country will fall apart, which is what the American Democrats always wanted for Afghanistan. They shattered the country during Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton. In my father’s opinion, the Democrats had nothing to do but ruin the world and Afghanistan. I did not understand these words. During the years of Obama’s presidency, I had become a teenager and slowly realized my sexual identity as a gay man. Thanks to the Internet, which was a souvenir of the presence of Americans in the country, dozens of radio and television networks that were broadcast from inside and outside the country were freely available to us. Thanks to the relative freedom of speech, I slowly got to know myself.

I knew that I was interested in men. In the conservative society of Afghanistan, this was a great sin, but there was also a light of hope. Because of the presence of different countries, numerous international organizations and educational institutions and foundations working in Afghanistan, I had the hope that I would be able to go outside Afghanistan by studying. Or at least in Afghanistan, I can enter politics or the circle of power and try to change the law. What was surging in Afghanistan was hope. We could dream and wish.

The first time I fell in love was when I experienced a terrible explosion in Kabul. I was 19 years old. I managed to get into one of the American universities in the city by studying a lot. Afghanistan became increasingly insecure daily, especially after Ashraf Ghani’s government took office, his inefficiency in keeping the country unified made Afghanistan unstable. The world was still at war with ISIS. After months of surfing the internet and using apps like Grindr (which could be dangerous to use in Afghanistan) and hookups, I became interested in one of my classmates in our college and understood he was also a gay man. It had been a few days since we had each other’s phone numbers and talked, and that day we were supposed to go to a restaurant on a proper date after university.

On that hot summer day, when I left home to go to university, a massive explosion shook the city’s green zone around 8:30 in the morning. I witnessed the killing and wounding of hundreds of people from close-up. Due to the power of the explosion, one of the lenses of my eye glasses was thrown to a corner, and my ears couldn’t hear any sound for hours.

I did not go to university that morning. I wanted to go, but I couldn’t because of the explosion. I was thinking about my new love, Muhammad, with all my heart. The mobile network was down, and I could not contact him. I kept praying that he was safe; I, who had dreamt of kissing his lips was burning with longing to see him again. An hour passed with these thoughts until I decided to go to the university, maybe to find Muhammad.

I passed the hefty traffic of Kabul and reached the back of the college building around noon. The university was quieter than usual, and the students did not show up due to the explosion. I stayed on campus. It was a few minutes past noon when Muhammad arrived. I saw his eyes first. Black, and then my attention was drawn to him. I jumped and hugged him. It was awkward, but if anyone asks about my show of affection, I will say that I am glad he did not die in the explosion. From that day on, we were not apart for a second. Morning and night, night and morning. I took him home and introduced him to the family as a close friend. He also took me to his house. We studied together and planned for the future. We always joked that our relationship started with a huge explosion.

The underground life of LGBTs in Afghanistan was gradually improving. Mohammad and I used to participate in LGBT gatherings together. On Tuesdays, we met in a restaurant, on Fridays at a swimming pool in the centre of Kabul, and on Wednesdays in one of the foreign embassies that had a cafe. Little by little, some women’s rights activists were also talking about the rights of LGBT people. The media addressed the issue of LGBT people, and even a few members of the Afghan parliament mentioned their support for the legalization of homosexuality in Afghanistan.

Aside from the daily explosions and suicidal attacks, life still smelled of hope.

 Muhammad and I planned to finish our studies and go abroad with a scholarship. When Joe Biden came to power with the promise of a complete U.S. withdrawal from Afghanistan, I told Mohammad that I felt afraid. We were staring at the TV, listening to his statements, and praying to God that these words were nothing but an election promise. Mohammad and I, who had not seen the first round of the Taliban government, had heard painful stories from our parents. The fact that they put homosexuals at the edge of the wall and executed them was a story we repeatedly heard from our friends. The weekly dates with our LGBT friends had faded. Many were afraid to come out of the house and gather in public places. We were all worried. For the last time, about a month before the fall of Kabul, we gathered at the usual restaurant in the centre of Kabul. It was a Tuesday. One friend played the guitar, and the other sang a song with him. Even though we didn’t know about the future or even know that this was our last meeting, we were sad and in tears.

The situation was getting worse and worse. In 2021, the control of the country would gradually slip out of the hands of the Afghan army. Our hope was shattered. But we did not believe the American military would leave the way they did. We did not think that all those various international institutions would leave the country at once. And finally, we did not believe that in less than a few minutes, the government, the parliament, the army, and all the mechanisms built in the last twenty years would fall apart.

Let’s go back to the morning of August 15, 2021. That day was hot and sunny. Ashraf Ghani said in a speech that he would stay in power till his death and defend the country. Muhammad and I, who had survived the pressure to marry the girls of each other’s families, both wanted to leave the country. We both started working in a foreign non-governmental organization. We had agreed to make an excuse and buy a house together. Over the last couple of weeks, We were given security warnings, but we continued to work. We liked to keep our hope and think that life goes on. We wanted to think the world would not leave us alone against the Taliban. We believed that America would not open the door to terrorist groups again after twenty years. After all the promises of human rights, Biden would not leave us alone with a terrorist group. We wanted to believe that Biden would not sell us to the Taliban.

 Around noon on August 15, 2021, something strange happened. The whole city was running around. Everyone was telling me that the Taliban had entered Kabul. I was looking down from the top floor of the building and asking myself, where exactly are these people running? If the Taliban has captured the country, then it’s over. I encouraged Muhammad, who was sitting in front of me, to go home. We were the last people to leave our office building, and, as usual, we kissed each other in a secluded corner. Muhammad and his family lived west of Kabul, and my family and I lived in the northeast.

We said goodbye. I was so nervous. I stared at Muhammad on the street when he was walking away. He left and was lost in the crowd. It was around evening when the government fell and the Taliban officially took over the country. The phones were not working correctly, but I was still in touch with Muhammad. My mother and one of my sisters, a high school student, were crying. She said that the Taliban would not let her return to school. She guessed right. Little by little, radio and television programs took a different form. The music stopped, and Taliban leaders appeared on the stage. Was this the end? There were many news reports about the withdrawal of American troops. However, we still hoped that now that the Taliban had immediately occupied the country, Joe Biden would order the continued presence of these troops. Is it possible? Twenty years of work destroyed overnight?

I thought of all the happy days. We had nothing in Afghanistan. We were poor, there were explosions here and there, but hope was in our hearts. We knew that our society does not want LGBT people, but we hoped that the situation would eventually improve. We had a life.

Every second of that first night, I was cowering in fear. Muhammad felt the same way. We didn’t know if the Taliban would come to us because of working with a foreign organization. Are they aware of our sexual orientation because of our relationship with other LGBT people? Homosexuals were messaging each other on Grindr and asking if there was a way to escape the country or not.

Two days after the occupation of Kabul by the Taliban and the acceleration of the withdrawal of U.S. military forces from Afghanistan, we received a message from the organization we were working for that both Muhammad and I could go to the Kabul airport and leave the country. It was a difficult decision–separation from family and flying to an unknown future.

Apart from all this, reports of massive crowding around Kabul airport were concerning. The Taliban forces occupied the streets around the airport, and we had to pass through the Taliban checkpoints to reach the Kabul airport. We decided to leave for the airport very early in the morning. The scary faces of the Taliban, with their long hair, long beards, bare feet and eyes full of hatred, who were busy hunting their victims, added to our anxiety. Some of these forces had sticks or whips in their hands and beat people. We were told to go to one of the entrances at the back of the Kabul airport, where British troops were stationed. But from one kilometer around this area, the crowd was surging. The screams of men and women, the cries of children, and the aerial fire of the Taliban and the British forces could be heard everywhere. Thousands of people waited for hours in the extreme heat to enter the airport. Most of them came there without any invitation and to escape from Taliban’s Afghanistan. Taliban forces sometimes beat the attendees to disperse them.

I saw many children being trampled and separated from their families.

After hours, we made it to the entrance. Muhammad and I held each other’s hands tightly so we would not lose each other. We had almost no luggage with us. We had gone to the airport with a handful of clothes, cell phones, and a bottle of water. When the crowd pushed us away from the entrance, we held each other’s hands so tightly that we wouldn’t be separated for a moment. Oblivious to what was in front of us, we tried to move forward as best we could. In one of the bars, when British army soldiers opened the door, I dragged myself to the front door. Muhammad’s hand was still in my hand. I gave the name and number we had to the soldier. The crowd shook violently and pushed Muhammad and me away from the door again. I returned to that soldier again. He had found my name and was asking me for the second person. I tried to bring Muhammad in front of the eyes of the British soldier who had been screaming so much since morning that he could not hear. The soldier pushed me into the compound and started talking and looking at Muhammad’s documents. With concern and the insistence of other soldiers, I was pushed away from the entrance into one of the airport buildings. I was looking out the window. I could still see Muhammad’s tired and worried face.

Suddenly, I heard several aerial shots. Some people were trying to enter the area by pushing the airport entrance. Suddenly, the unexpected happened. The U.K. military decided to close the airport to protect its troops and the fleeing passengers. I was hoping that Muhammad had entered the airport area. No matter how many times I looked for it, they couldn’t find it. The phones were not working. I was crying, and I couldn’t say that the person left outside was my love, my life, and my whole existence. I couldn’t shout how you let the heterosexual couples in and kept my husband out. I was asking myself if Muhammad was alive at all. There was no news of him, and the British military plane, which was flying to Doha, was ready to leave Kabul airport. I begged them to let me stay and take the next flight. They said there might not be another flight. I don’t remember the next few minutes. I did not understand at all how the plane took off from Kabul. I was crying. Almost everyone was crying. We were the generation of hope, and I didn’t want to lose my hope.

I hoped that Muhammad would come out of Afghanistan on the next plane. When we arrived in Doha, I connected to the Internet, hoping to hear from him. There was no news. I called their house in Kabul. His family thought he was with me and worried he did not fly with me. The following hours were terrifying. Our relationship, which started with an explosion in Kabul, ended with another blast in Kabul. Muhammad was killed in an explosion next to the Kabul airport that same day.

I’m still breathing. My body is alive. But on the same day, August 17, 2021, my soul was left at the Kabul airport. I still see Muhammad’s big black eyes from behind the window of Kabul airport, and I say to myself a thousand times a day: Curse Joe Biden. He took life and love from millions of Afghans. The president, who shakes hands with imaginary creatures and can’t even make a correct sentence, decided our country and destiny and destroyed us. I ask myself a thousand times a day, do my fellow American LGBTs know that the pro-human rights president of the United States deprived Afghans of their fundamental rights? It doesn’t matter anymore. I am dead. My generation is dead. Joe Biden killed us.

Trending

English